Doctoral student Weng Jian of WUT was selected into the Humboldt Scholars Program
Update Time:2021-11-25 10:01:08

Recently, the 2021 Humboldt scholarship funding list was announced. Weng Jian, a doctoral student of the School of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering of WUT, was selected into the Humboldt Scholars Program (lifelong honor) and won the Humboldt scholarship. It is the first time that the doctoral student of WUT has won this scholarship. He will go to Germany to carry out a two-year long postdoctoral study.

Weng Jian was admitted to the School of Mechanical and Electronic Engineering of WUT in 2012and got his bachelordegree in 2016 when he also passed the postgraduate recommendation of his school. In 2018, he was selected to start the doctoral study in advance, researching high-performance machining of difficult-to-process- materials. He had published 10 high-level papers in national and international prestigious journals as first author and corresponding author, such as International Journal of Mechanical Sciences, Journal of Materials Processing Technology, Journal of Manufacturing Processes, Materials and Manufacturing Processes, and China Mechanical Engineering, etc.. He had been granted 2 invention patents. Duringthe time in WUT, he had won the National Scholarship for Postgraduates, Doctoral Excellence Scholarship and BAIC Scholarship and won the honorary of Outstanding Postgraduates of the University for many times. In 2019, he gained the support of China Scholarship Council to studyin Lund University in Sweden for one year.

Founded in 1860, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is named after the great German natural scientist and social activist Alexander von Humboldt. It is one of the three most famous postdoctoral scholarships in the world and enjoys high reputation and influence in the world. So far, more than 50 Humboldt scholars are Nobel Prize Laureates. Prominent Chinese Humboldt scholars include Lu Yongxiang (former president of the Chinese Academy of Sciences), Wei Yu (former Vice Minister of the Ministry of Education) and Ding Han (Academicianof the Chinese Academy of Sciences) andso on. The Humboldt scholars program mainly provides funding for outstanding young scientists and scholars around the world, promotes exchanges between scientists and scholars, and carries out international cooperation. And this honorary title is lifelong.

Written by: Xie Zhongqing, Sun Xiazhong

Rewritten by: Li Huihui

Edited by:LiTiantian